Dollar Diet: Week 9

Week 9 of our Dollar Diet went well.

Also, how can it be March already?  I am off to Adelaide this Thursday, wahoo! This is me:

any excuse to put David Tennant in my blog (image credit)

any excuse to put David Tennant in my blog
(image credit)

So, frugal things.  We made good use of our apples by making apple chutney (thanks to D for his marathon apple peeling effort) and applesauce.  We are now awash with ridiculously good chutney if you ever want to pop in for a visit.

2015-03-01 22.07.53

Chutney! I love how the jar at the front looks like it has a smiley face. It’s clearly happy to be filled with yummy chutney…

 

If you’ve been following me for a while you will know that D makes our bread from scratch, pretty much every day.  At the start of our Dollar Diet, he spent the princely sum of $5 on a bread guide thingee (you know, those things that help you cut even slices) which turn out to be flimsy and rubbish.  So I was gobsmacked to see this in my local op-shop for $3:

Technical name: bread slicer thingee

Technical name: bread slicer thingee

And oh, it is the business.  Robust and sturdy and helps slice our bread like a dream.  Considering it will be used almost everyday, that’s the best $3 I’ve spent in a long time.

The absolute highlight of my week was attending a ‘swap shop’ organised by my frugalista friend S.  A swap shop or ‘swishing‘ is basically just a bunch of friends getting together to swap clothing, accessories and well, anything else you like, really.  It was fabulous.  A lovely bunch of ladies, some nibbles, and a floor full of great clothes.

Chutney!  I love how this jar looks like it has a smiley face...

There were two pregnant ladies in attendance so they scored some of Chip and Sausage’s clothes, and I went home with loads of clothes for Chip, some clothes for me and a t-shirt for D, some books, and a sweet little handbag that will be perfect for the wedding I’m going to on Saturday.

2015-03-02 20.39.42

If you’ve never been to a swishing party before, I highly recommend it.  What you have grown tired of, someone else is bound to adore, and you may come home with some dream clothes.  They are not hard to organise, all you need is a venue, a bunch of friends, and the will to let go of the clothes that are no longer serving you.  Oh, and wine.

Deciding what to take to the swap shop was a sobering exercise.  I went through TWO large suitcases AND one large storage bin of my clothes that weren’t currently in rotation in my wardrobe.  Most of them were too small for me, so it was rather depressing!  (C’mon Trim Healthy Mama, I say.)  I do store my summer and winter clothes in the suitcases depending on the season, but it certainly got me thinking what a crazy amount of clothes I have.  And I don’t think my wardrobe size is anything out of the ordinary!  How often have I shopped in the past, not really needing anything in particular, but just wanting to nab a bargain?  A bin load.  So I gave away clothes that I have no use for now I am a stay-at-home-Mum, or those that I never felt good in.

A few years ago I realised the Wellington factor had crept into my wardrobe (for my non-NZ readers, Wellingtonians wear a lot of black!).  I am a bright spring who loathes wearing black near my face (I look like I might be a recruit for a zombie apocalypse), so I vowed not to buy any more black or grey clothes, and now my wardrobe looks like a rainbow exploded in it.  Bright colours make me happy, what can I say.  The swap shop got almost the last vestiges of my funereal attire which was happily was snapped up by a friend.  Oh, but guess what colour I am wearing to the wedding?  Black is just so darn useful…

Anyway, what else did we do this week?

D returned a faulty bbq and a heater to a store who replaced the heater, and they are replacing the faulty parts of the bbq.  D also needed new glasses as his prescription has changed, but he opted for some inexpensive frames over the ones he usually likes.  You’re so Dollar Diet D.

One of the things I like about the Dollar Diet is that I am spending more time relationally.  I see more of my friends.  In my home, in their homes, whatever.  Spending time in each other’s homes somehow takes any friendship to a deeper level.  You get a real understanding for what someone is like when you can see how they live – and check out their book collection.  I see my friend A and her son 4 or 5 times a week, so when she asked me if I could babysit her son the other day due to an emergency, it was no problem to do so.  Being a Dollar Dieter I am often at home, and her son is totally comfortable with me.  We whiled away the time painting (yay for my roll of newsprint).

2015-02-27 11.23.45

 

Next week I suspect will not be filled with as much frugality, whilst I meander around Adelaide with a couple of my best girlfriends.  I’m looking forward to great conversations, uninterrupted sleep, visiting the Hello Kitty Cafe, and of course, seeing my wonderful friend get married.

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

