Easter

Happy Easter

Happy Easter

Easter.

What a special, special time.

I think Easter is often treated like the poor second-cousin to popular ol’ Christmas.  But as a Christian, Easter is the biggest religious event of the year for me.   Easter is the cornerstone of my faith.  I often think it’s odd how the cross became a symbol for Christianity when really it should be that empty tomb.  It’s the resurrection of Jesus that is, and should be, the show-stopper.  For me, Easter is a time of contemplation, ceremony and gratitude.  And the occasional chocolate egg.

Now I have tots of my own – and one is old enough to start learning what Easter is all about – this Easter was the first one where I had to think about what I wanted Easter to ‘look like’ for my family.

Rest.  Worship.  Reflection. Celebration. Togetherness.  Outside.  These were the words that resonated with me the most this Easter.

I resolved to have a screen-free Easter to give myself a rest and to spend more time connecting with my family. I switched my cellphone off, and only logged on my computer once to check Facebook to see photos of my cousin’s wedding that I missed due to being sick on Good Friday.  Going phone-free was brilliant.  Instead of checking my emails or surfing the net, I read books.  In fact, I read three novels in two days.  I spent more time playing with my kids.  I liked being phone free so much if my smart phone wasn’t such a useful tool for our budgeting, I would be tempted to get rid of it altogether.

I forgot to take my camera to church on Good Friday (due to feeling like death warmed up, stupid head cold) so I don’t have any photos of D being Jesus in our church play.  Our church combines with four other churches at Easter and the members walk from church to church to see the stations of the cross.  As I have two wriggly children we only made it to our church, but it was amazing to see the place so full up that people had to stand in the aisles.  The play was very moving, and D may have to consider a new career in acting.  Easter Sunday’s service was a beautiful time of worship and reflection – complete with a baptism, flowers, candles, singing, and resurrection eggs.

As we had plenty of room in our grocery budget D and I decided to have a special dinner on Easter Sunday – roast lamb.  My MIL joined us, and we lit candles, read the Easter story (I thoroughly recommend the Rhyme Bible Storybook for Toddlers) and enjoyed our feast.

We even managed to get outside.

Here is what Easter looked like for us:

Making Easter chocolates to give away to friends and family

Making Easter chocolates to give away to friends and family

Sausage forgets the chocolate is not for her...

Sausage forgets the chocolate is not for her…

Now Chip is crawling the world (or his sister's bedroom) has opened up for him

Now Chip is crawling the world (or his sister’s bedroom) has opened up for him

Fun and games

That’s not how you do it, Daddy!

Chip is delighted with his Easter gift

Chip is delighted with his Easter gift

At last... Sausage with her very own chocolate egg

At last…
Sausage with her very own chocolate egg

Three rascals

Three rascals

Feijoa crumble - part of our Easter Sunday dinner

Feijoa crumble – part of our Easter Sunday dinner

Out for a walk

Out for a walk

Chip loves the great outdoors

Chip loves the great outdoors

How do you celebrate Easter in your house?

2 thoughts on “Easter

  1. Pingback: Spending Fast: Week 14, in which I fail to plan | Tots in Tawhero

  2. Pingback: Trim Healthy Thursday: The end? | Tots in Tawhero

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

