Dollar Diet: Week 19, zzzzzzzz

This week’s update is rather boring I’m afraid.  I have no amazing tales of frugality to share, nor do I have any epic tales of woe in failing my Dollar Diet.  Our biggest expense this week was getting a key cut for our new (new-to-us several months ago) car as it only came with one.  D and I could have lived with one key, but D was worried about the horrendous cost (over $500) of getting a whole new key made should we loose ‘the one true key’.  So we took the cheaper option of getting a copy of our current electronic car key made, which was still $180!  Damn these electronic locks.

Our holiday budget is now only $860 in the red, having paid off my holiday to Adelaide with Dollar Diet savings.  We will be able to get it back in black in a couple of months, in plenty of time for D and Sausage’s September trip to the Netherlands to see family.  After their holiday, we’ll probably throw some savings at our car and home maintenance budget, and Christmas (although I intend to make our gifts this year, we’ll probably need to up our food budget a bit as we get lots of visitors over the Christmas break).

I can definitely say that some of my earlier frugal mojo has waned, as I was reflecting yesterday that I have been rubbish at making gifts lately (Mother’s Day, birthdays etc).  Life has been busy and I am just plain tired and uninspired.  I need to get some supplies to make gifts with, and carve out some more crafty time again.

We kept Mother’s Day low-key (we do this anyway, Dollar Diet or not), but I was treated to a special breakfast and lunch.  I was given a cheap-and-cheerful bunch of flowers with a home made card, and got to eat my breakfast in peace.  Bliss.  D and I will have to put our thinking caps on as our wedding anniversary is coming up soon, and our eating out budget is set at zero for this year.

One thought on “Dollar Diet: Week 19, zzzzzzzz

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

