Dollar Diet: Week 33, ka-ching!

As usual, we had some good wins and some not-so-great losses during this week’s Dollar Diet.

We had several frugal family outings to the beach, lake and botanic gardens as we had some amazingly sunny and warm weather.  One of the best things about being a stay-at-home-mum is that I am beholden to no one but my family.  If the weather is stunning, I can get out and enjoy it with my tots.

Something tells me spring is on its way...

Something tells me spring is on its way…

We came out under budget with our groceries, and were given a meal by a friend who knew we’d had a tough time when the kids were sick the other week.  We felt very loved.

D and I had a stay-at-home date night, spent binge-watching The 100 (it’s getting very gripping!).  We are looking forward to a rare weekend away, childfree, staying at a friend’s holiday home.  We don’t get a lot of D & A time, having a one-year old and a two-and-a-half year old.  It’s a very demanding season for us, and we can’t wait to have some space to recharge our worn-out batteries.  The kids will join us a couple of days later so we can have a little seaside holiday as a family.

One thing that has put a serious dent in our budget is a gate.  Yep, a gate.  Our property is fully fenced, but I want the backyard to be fenced off so my kids can be confined there while they are small.  Our kitchen looks out onto our backyard (which is huge) so I can be doing housework while they play outside.  At the moment this is still a dream, as Chip still tries to eat everything in sight.  But once he is out of that phase, knowing that they are safe in the backyard, away from cars coming and going I will be one happy Mama.

D has finished a fence and gate on one side of the house (sorry, I would have taken a photo but it poured with rain today).  I’m so proud of him for tackling this on his own, as he hadn’t done anything like it before.  The fence and gate look fantastic, and D doing the work himself has saved us a ton of money.  The other side of the house is quite wide, and requires a ‘farm’ gate, which cost us just over $400.  Ouch!  But it’s money well spent.

I went on a little shopping spree this morning, while D went on an adventure with the kids.  I achieved one of my Trim Healthy Mama goals, which netted me $20 to spend at my favourite second hand store – taken from my birthday money/gift voucher stash which I am using as rewards.  I spent $16 on an evening cardi/jacket type thingee, and a top and was thrilled to see that I had actually hit another of my THM targets which has netted me even more money.

The old me would rush out to spend that reward money as soon as possible.  But I’m hanging on to it.  My black boots have finally given up the ghost despite numerous repair attempts, so I will be putting this money towards a new, high-quality pair that will hopefully last me much longer than this pair did (2 seasons).  I have my eye on a pair that cost $200, and will be selling the huge pile of clothes that are now too big for me to help make up the difference.

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

