Taking Trim Healthy Mama on the road

I mentioned the other week that my husband is taking our eldest child to the Netherlands to visit relatives, while 1 year-old Chip and I stay home.  It’s not strictly true, as Chip and I will be taking a little road trip up to Auckland.

We’re visiting a dear friend who is due to have her second baby at the end of September, so we will be there to celebrate my friend’s birthday and have a little shower for the new baby.  I’m hoping to make myself useful while I’m there, filling her freezer with meals, and babysitting her toddler while she rests or gets in a few date nights with her husband before baby no. 2 arrives.

It’s a 5-and-a-bit hour drive to Auckland, and as I don’t want to inflict a long journey on my active boy, he and I will stop overnight somewhere there and back.

All this means I will have to take Trim Healthy Mama on the road.  Holidays are always a tricky time and can spell the end of many a diet.  Well, it has been for me, at any rate.  In the past I have tended to think ‘all bets are off’ while I’m on holiday, and spend my time enjoying whatever the local cuisine is.  I had to modify this when I became sugar-free, as even a small bit of sugar makes me feel terrible, and who wants to feel awful on holiday?  Still, holidays still seduce me to be more indulgent that usual (Hot chips? Yes please!).

Fortunately THM is reasonably transportable, and I feel confident that I will be okay.  While we are travelling I can self-cater, and will be taking eggs, greek yoghurt, fruit, tuna and a bag of quinoa/rice blend with me.  I imagine I will be eating a lot of chicken salad for lunch and dinner.

While I am staying with friends I will make sure I have plenty of THM food in the house, and will be volunteering to make lunch and dinner while my friend puts her feet up.  My friend is quite interested in THM so I will take the opportunity to introduce her to some dishes, plus it’s a great way to be able to control what I eat.

I will be making a couple of THM dishes for the baby shower to ensure there is something I can eat.  The only challenge I can foresee is eating out while we are out-and-about.  Most places do meat and salad, but I may have to get creative if the only place around is a sandwich bar.  At the same time, I don’t want to be all Militant Mary; that’s not my style.  Basically if I have a meal or two that is off-plan I’m not going to sweat it.

Wish me luck!

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

