Trim Healthy Thursday: Tough times

So first up, I did not do as well at sticking to Trim Healthy Mama and exercise as I’d hoped.

I did almost no exercise as I was either too knackered from driving hours and hours, or I was physically unable to (due to rain, and there being no room where we were staying – long story).  I did however take Chip on several vigorous walks, and ran around the zoo with Chip and my friend’s toddler giggling in the pram.  Trust me, 20kg of child and 10 of pram is a good workout!  Now I am home, it’s straight back into it.

I ate at McDonald’s a couple of times on the journey as it was raining and Chip desperately needed to play.  I have never thanked God for McDonald’s before, but their playgrounds really are wonderful for wriggly travellers.

While away I managed to stay on plan about 70% of the time.  Breakfasts were easy, and I made a couple of THM dinners for my friends while I was staying with them.  My friend had a wonderful birthday party while I was there, complete with a smorgasbord – so it was very easy for me to eat the THM way.

All set for the party

All set for the party

I did get a surprise after a few non-THM meals though.  When I am a house guest I simply eat whatever my hosts eat out of politeness (I do not have deathly allergies, therefore I do not expect anyone to cater to my every dietary whim), so we had sandwiches for lunch and some bread with dinner.  After two days of eating bread, I was soooooo hungry!  The feeling was reminiscent of whenever I eat a bit of sugar, now that I’ve been sugar-free for ages.  I didn’t throw in the towel.  I simply went out and bought some cheese sticks and beef jerky to try and fill the gap.

The next time I go on a road trip I will definitely take more THM food with me, even if it means lugging a cooler around.  And pray for fine weather so McDonald’s playgrounds are off the menu!

2 thoughts on “Trim Healthy Thursday: Tough times

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

