Trim Healthy Thursday: A dilemma

This was not a good week for Trim Healthy Mama and I.  I had several meals out with family or friends where good choices were either not on offer, or not made my me!  I am a comfort eater and have been under some stress so I think that’s why I had a few times where I thought ‘stuff it, I’ll eat all the carbs I want’.  I get enormously irritated at myself for behaving this way under times of stress.  I often fall prey to the old trap of ‘Oh well, I’ve stuffed up now, I may as well carry on this way today’.  So dumb I know, but my goodness, I find it a really hard habit to break.

Now D is back from the Netherlands, I feel a bit more on an even keel.  I’m back into my usual routines, so sticking to THM and exercising just seems…easier.

Despite this, I still had a big win this week.  After a few particularly warm and sunny days (oh weather, how you mock me right now), I got out my suitcase which holds my out-of-season clothes.  I had loads of fun having a little fashion parade and seeing how my clothes from last summer (pre-THM) fit me now.

I had to toss a whole bunch.

Seriously.  Loads of things are now so big they are very unflattering, so out they’ve gone.  I even had a couple of things I’d purchased that had never fitted but I’d kept for that elusive time ‘when I lost some weight’.  They fit now, which is worthy of a little victory dance, but I tried them on and thought ‘eugh, why did I want this?  It doesn’t suit me’.  So out they went too.

My summer wardrobe is quite depleted.  I have a few things that are just a bit too small, so I’m hoping that by the time the weather warms up (again) they will fit just fine.  And I won’t be stuck having to match three peasant skirts with four violently clashing tops.

Even my winter wardrobe is suffering.  Yesterday I put on a top usually reserved for the gloriously messy play of Playcentre.  It cost me $5 at the time, and I didn’t particularly care for it – which meant it was fine if it got covered in paint, sand and dirt.  Even with a thermal layer on underneath, the top was ridiculously big.  I looked like I was channelling Jennifer Beale’s sloppy sweatshirt look in ‘Flashdance’, but not in a good way.  I have to retire my favourite jeans as they are now so big they look extremely unflattering.  There are many empty hangers in my wardrobe.  Even my leggings are getting too baggy.  It’s a good problem to have though, there’s no denying it.

My dilemma is this: it seems silly to spend money on clothes that may only fit me for a little while if I keep on THM-ing.  Which, trust me, I’m going to.  I am on a strict Dollar Diet, so needing new clothes because mine are swimming on me is a problem.  I figure it’s prudent to make the most of what I currently have, and slowly buy a few things as and when I need them.  Given the rate that I’m biffing out my clothes I am a little concerned about being starkers next winter.  But I still need to dress my now-body, and I’m running out of options.

I had some birthday/reward money to spend, so I went out and got two tops and a skirt for a grand total of $26.00, because I buy second-hand.  That blue floral skirt on the left in the picture is from Jacquie E and cost me $12.99.  It’s in perfect condition.  But giving my current wardrobe a complete overhaul?  No way.  I can live with baggy clothes for a while.

Hmm, my husband accuses me of having a floral obsession...do you think he could be right?

Hmm, my husband accuses me of having a floral obsession…do you think he could be right?

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

