Trim Healthy Thursday: Changing my mind

First up, here is a photo update.

I've shrunk a bit

I’ve shrunk a bit

Mostly I took these for my own motivation because I’ve been feeling like nothing much is happening.  I’ve been particularly frustrated at not losing much around my middle where I carry most of my weight.  My top half is getting rather slim and is probably a size smaller by now, while my bottom half isn’t.  But when I compare the photos I can see that things are happening.  I’m definitely a bit smaller, and my double chin is almost gone.  I haven’t dropped any more dress sizes, nor have the scales gone down, but the pictures speak for themselves.  If you are doing Trim Healthy Mama, take photos!  It’s the only sure way to measure your progress.

An interesting effect of THM has been on the way I view my body.  I have always been rather up and down of figure, but THM is revealing curves where they’ve never been before.  For some reason, this has made me pay more attention to clothing sizes.  In the past I have just been used to clothes not fitting me.  I would try them on, they wouldn’t fit, and I would think ‘Oh, I’m so fat etc’.  Now if I try something on in ‘my’ size and it doesn’t fit, I immediately think ‘Oh, this label runs small.’  Because some do.  In some shops you will fit your size, and in others you might need one or even two sizes bigger.  And that’s not because you are a fatty-lard-ass, it’s because the stupid fashion industry doesn’t have regulation sizes (not in NZ anyway).  So here’s my advice: try and find a high street chain that seems to have a ‘true’ size for you.  Use their clothes as your weight-loss gauge, and don’t get discouraged if you can’t squeeze into clothes at a certain store, because the perfect fit might be waiting for you at the next store.

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

