Trim Healthy Thursday: Hitting the wall

After blogging about how well I was doing with my food and exercise last week, I well and truly ran head-first into a great, big brick wall.

Pride cometh before a fall is such a true saying.

Too many late nights, interrupted sleeps and early starts left me in quite a funk.  I did a few half-hearted runs and workouts, and basically ate all the carbs for about three days straight.  Whenever I ‘slip up’ I revert immediately to all-or-nothing thinking: ‘Oh well, I’ve stuffed that meal up – may as well carry on today, it won’t hurt’.  Except it does hurt.  I felt so exhausted after those three days, partly because I hadn’t been fuelling my body properly.

And the self-talk.  I am brutal to myself.  I was fat, lazy, you name it.  If I was talking to my best friend, you can bet I wouldn’t be such a mean girl.  ‘Angela’, I would say to myself, ‘Everyone slips up.  It’s normal, to be expected.  It’s not the end of the world.  It’s a blip.  Make better choices at your next meal.’

But I eventually took stock, let myself have a day off exercising, and got back on the Trim Healthy Mama wagon.  This week I am doing another fuel cycle, as I think my frustration at not getting down another dress size is partially to blame for last week’s funk.  The fuel cycle may just help to kick-start things again.  I got in a decent run this morning and feel much better for it.

Journeys – especially health journeys – are not always in a straight line.  Often they look like this:

And that’s okay.

6 thoughts on “Trim Healthy Thursday: Hitting the wall

  1. That picture couldn’t be any more accurate! The journey needs to have some twists and turns so your weight loss and changes will last. Forget the big picture, goal weight, etc. and just focus on one change at a time, one day at a time. I personally feel losing and maintain weight isn’t about the food… it’s such a mental game! Check me out of you want help with that part of the weight loss game… I focus most of my time on helping people through the mind games! http://www.EatACheeseburger.com

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

