Trim Healthy Thursday: Keep on movin’

I have been chugging along pretty well on the Trim Healthy Mama lifestyle, but my fitness hit a snag a couple of weeks ago.  I tore a calf muscle landing on some uneven ground while out running, and despite resting it for a few days, it continued to hurt whenever I tried to exercise.

image credit

I plan to do the Tongariro Crossing in a few short weeks, so not be able to exercise put quite a dampener on that plan.  After a week and a half of having to abort my exercise plan each time due to pain, I decided to see a physiotherapist as I need to keep moving.  He was brilliant, and I have strict instructions involving heat pads and stretching I must follow to the letter.  Until I am given the all-clear to carry on with my running/hiit/stair-climbing routine I have started swimming and cycling instead.  I hate spending money on exercise (gyms are not for me), and at $5 a pop my local pool isn’t cheap.  At least it’s only for a week or two as the prognosis for my injury is good.

3 thoughts on “Trim Healthy Thursday: Keep on movin’

  1. Sucks when you have to listen to your body and rest… good for you that you’re still moving despite the injury. I think a lot of people see an injury as a license to sit around! Not you!! :o)

  2. Pingback: Trim Healthy Thursday: 10 Months in | Tots in Tawhero

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

