Toddler Advent (so far)

I’ve been rather quiet on here as I have been unwell (every now and then my thyroid likes to throw a wobbly), and I’ve also been spending my evenings making Christmas presents.  I’ve enjoyed doing some crafting, but the photo books for my children are doing my head in – I swear the site I am using got a sadist to design its photo upload system…

Anyway, Advent and all things Christmassy are in full swing in our Tawhero household.  Sausage is absolutely loving it, and Chip is irresistibly attracted to the shiny bauble on our Christmas tree.  I’m grateful that my efforts to explain what Christmas is really about to my almost-three-year old have paid off.  This year she knows who everyone in the Nativity story is and can sing most carols off my heart (although she may have got some of ‘The Virgin Mary had a Baby Boy’ a tad wrong…I caught her singing “Oh YES! Beavers.  Oh YES! Beavers..”  She means ‘believers’.  I laughed waaaaaay too hard at that).

Sausage chose a gift for a less fortunate child (who is bound to love the Frozen doll Sausage picked out), which she happily handed over to a local charity.  It must have stuck in her mind, because the other day she said to me ‘Mummy, let’s give my small clothes to a baby that needs them.  Some children don’t get any’.  Heart-melting.

We’ve been making crafts related to Bible readings about Jesus.  Simple but great fun.

 

Getting the hang of advent calendars took a little while, especially as she shares one with her brother.  I was gobsmacked to see these in one of our local Warehouse stores (sort of like Target for my overseas readers):

DSCN8423.JPGYou almost never see any Nativity-related things in the shops here – it’s nothing but snow, reindeer and Santa.

And I was even more surprised to discover the shop sold these:

nativity

This cardboard cut-out Nativity set was absolutely perfect for Sausage to put together, and she was most particular about who was grouped with who.

My tots are inundated with advent calendars this year as my mother discovered my Aunt was going to get rid of a lovely felt one, so she rescued it and put some fun gifts in it for the children.  Sausage has grasped the concept that one day is ‘her day’, and the next day her brother gets to take the gift.  They get so excited about this calendar.

DSCN8418.JPG

Sausage taking out one of the gifts

DSCN8483

Chip enjoying one of his gifts (a whistle)

 

St Nicholas day was a big hit.  We read books about him in the weeks leading up to it, and then on the day the children got chocolate coins in their shoes in memory of this remarkable man.  Of course, chocolate for breakfast is pretty much their best day ever!DSCN8464

DSCN8432

A traditional Dutch Taai Taai (aniseed bread) in the shape of St Nicholas

We’ve been lighting candles on our Advent wreath during dinner, and that has been HUGELY fun for the children.  Sausage loves to blow them out, and waits rather impatiently for us all to finish eating.  ‘Are you finished yet?’, she will cry as you take your first bite of food…

DSCN8470

It doesn’t get much more exciting that this when you are 16 months old

We have a plethora of Christmas books telling the story of Jesus’ birth.  Each one is delightful in its own way, but my favourite is our copy of  The Christmas Book by Dick Bruna (Dutch author of the Miffy books) as it has a wonderful inscription from their Oma and Opa to my husband and his little brother.  A real family taonga (treasure).

There is more fun to come in the next two weeks – a couple of parties, making presents and going caroling around the streets with our church.

 

2 thoughts on “Toddler Advent (so far)

  1. Pingback: November & December | Tots in Tawhero

  2. Pingback: Advent in Tawhero, in reverse | Tots in Tawhero

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

