Trim Healthy Thursday: 10 Months in

 

I can explain my lack of Trim Healthy Mama posts two ways.  One, I have been busy.  Two, I have not been a stellar example of the THM lifestyle this month.

This is not to say I have been spending my time like this:

cheesy dibbles.jpg

Oh man, I LOVE these guys!  Hilarious. (image credit)

Ok, so maybe a little bit of the time.

I’ve had too many treat meals recently.  December is a treaty time of year unfortunately, and I think I went too far with the whole ‘being kind’ to myself while I have not been feeling 100%.

I went on a retreat with my BFF, and basically ate two entire wheels of cheese with two packets of crackers, quaffed lots of red wine, and discovered a new brand of sugar-free chocolate, which I then proceeded to eat with great gusto.  My friend R and I were definitely in the ‘girl’s weekend’ mindset and just did whatever we wanted.  To be perfectly honest, I am only a teensy bit regretful about it all.  R lives overseas now and we only see each other once a year, so being together feels like it should be a rip-snorting, let-your-hair-down sort of time.

R and I had to abandon the idea of the Tongariro Crossing once it became clear that my calf muscle wasn’t going to be healed in time, and embarked on the Waihora Trail instead.  I’m glad we did, because my calf began to hurt a couple of hours into our hike, and R’s back was giving her a lot of pain (she has since discovered it was a slipped disc).  Despite gnashing our teeth at our geriatric bodies, we had a lovely walk and enjoyed some magnificent views of Lake Taupo.

We wisely stayed close to the Tokaanu hot pools and took a dip after our hike, which I’m quite sure helped us to feel rather sprightly the next day.

So I may not be perfect at sticking to Trim Healthy Mama, but I keep trying.  I am shrinking.  My double chin has gone and I have collarbones.  Collarbones!  I don’t think they’ve been sighted in years.  As you can see in the photos below, I have come a long way this year.  I plan to keep chugging along next year and look forward to shrinking some more.

sidebysideFeb-Dec2015

2 thoughts on “Trim Healthy Thursday: 10 Months in

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

