Happy Trimaversary

totsintawherosidebyside1year

One year of Trim Healthy Mama

Yesterday was my one year ‘Trimaversary’.  One year of doing Trim Healthy Mama.  One year!

I’m really proud of getting to this point.  As you can see from the photos above, THM works.  It’s been very slow (I am what we call a turtle in the THM world), but I’ve lost 3 dress sizes and have enough energy (most days) to run after my kids and exercise daily.

THM is different to any ‘diet’ I’ve been on before.  I stopped weighing myself months ago because the scale would stay the same but my clothes would be noticeably looser.  On THM I’ve lost weight in places I never have before and have discovered my collarbones.

It took until December until I really started to get lots of comments on my weight loss – people are generally too polite!  But since then, more and more people have had the courage to say something.

I wanted to end my year on a high note, but I want to be real and say that since Christmas I have struggled to stick to the THM plan.  I have good days when each meal is on plan, but I have bad days when I get to lunch, make bad choices (carbs), and carry on making bad choices for the rest of the day.  I think it has something to do with having been on holidays and being out of routine.

Since playgroups and kindy started back I have been better, but am still easily steered off course by special events.  I feel as if I have put on some weight because of this and it’s been hard not to let my nasty inner voice have free rein.  But I look at the photos above and see how far I’ve come and it keeps me going forward.  Anyway, I will be doing some serious thinking about what I can do to keep myself on plan more.  And keep you posted.

I have been terrific at exercising, and rarely have a day off.  I run, skate (I’ve taken up roller derby, wahoo!), do a HIIT workout or some gentle yoga.  I have noticeably more energy eating the THM way, and my moods are more stable.

So, here’s to making my second trimaversary.  I’m going back to basics, by making sure I fill up before special events so I don’t go overboard, no sweet THM treats (I think they affect my appetite, such is the sugar-free life) and giving myself plenty of grace for not being perfect.  🙂

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

