Dollar Diet: 2016

If you’ve been a long-time follower of mine, you’ll know that last year we embarked on a rigid Dollar Diet in an attempt to save towards some goals and curb our (and by ‘our’ I mean mostly ‘my’) spendthrift ways.  I love a challenge, and wanted to see if I could shave cafe visits off our budget, curb my clothes shopping habit, and learn some new skills like preserving, and dust off old skills like sewing and gardening (you can find my summary of how our 2015 Dollar diet went here).

One of the key things I learnt was I need a line in our budget for FUN.  Scrimping and saving without small things to look forward to turns a challenge into a drudge.  I do realise that for many people, this is their way of life.  There is no money at all for extras.  No money for a meal out, a movie, takeaway coffee, birthday presents and parties.  So I don’t mean to be shallow, I do get it.  This blog isn’t about changing the evil systemic inequalities of society.  It’s just the brain dump of my attempts to be a better steward of my resources.

Okay, enough heavyness.  Back to fun.  Nothing hugely frivolous is on my mind, just the odd day trip (see my day trip bucket list here), a date night out or the occasional restaurant meal with friends.  We’ve ticked a few items off our bucket list already – most have been free or only a dollar or two, like Sausage taking her first pony ride (she’s a natural!).

ponyridetotsintawhero.jpg

dandrviingtotsintawhero.jpg

Chip making the most of the free things on offer in Whanganui

bouncycastletotsintawhero.jpg

Bouncy castles are a blast

We’ve done a few more expensive things – which I must admit did feel strange after a year of restraint.  D took me on a terrific date night – we went to see a local production of Macbeth, which was performed outside.  D also paid a bit extra for a catered picnic (which for $20 a person was one of the best value meals I’ve ever had), and we had a ball.  The play was great by the way – very well staged and performed.  Kudos to all involved.

macbethselfietotsintawhero.jpg

Waiting for Macbeth to begin

the scottish playtots intawhero.jpg

 

We’re also taking our ‘word of the year’ seriously – MOVE.  Sausage started ballet lessons -which she absolutely loves.  She asks me almost every day if today is a ‘ballet day’.  The classes are a luxury, but a) she has been dancing since she could sit upright, and b) she was born with a club foot, so dancing is terrific for strengthening it.

ballet.jpg

I have signed up to one of our roller derby leagues.  Having read Gretchen Rubin’s book, Better than Before, I know that as an obliger, I am better off doing a team sport so I am accountable to others.  I did artistic roller skating as a kid so I have been amazed at what I am able to still do!  Anyway, derby is ridiculously fun, but as a sport, it is expensive.  My gear has been costly, but is roughly what you’d pay for a mountain bike.

skatergurltotsintawhero.jpg

These boots are made for…kicking butt on the rink

I also bought some NEW clothes for the first time in forever – only because I couldn’t find what I needed second-hand – because I have started a wee part-time job and needed appropriate threads (due to losing weight I didn’t have much left in my wardrobe).  I am facilitating a parenting class and get to put my own stamp on the programme, so I am finding it to be a wonderful boon to my little grey cells.  I’ll be lucky to make $50 a week, but I get to do something I love and that’s priceless.

But we haven’t abandoned our frugal ways at all.  We still need to watch our pennies.  D’s business is doing incredibly well, but we need to ensure we have a reasonable cushion of savings in case there are dry spells in his work.

So we are continuing to garden (I have a large glut of tomatoes right now), preserve, and generally try not to waste food, or spend unnecessarily.

producetotsintawhero.jpg

plumjamtotsintawhero.jpg

Plum jam on the boil

We’re still going to opt for free fun when possible, shared meals with friends and family over restaurants, making gifts instead of buying them, and thinking very carefully before we bring more ‘stuff’ into our home.

Bring it on, 2016!

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

