Dollar Diet Week 5: Love walks in

An unexpected expense hit our wallets this week – getting the house flea-treated.  Yuck.  Extremely frustrating as we didn’t have any pets (although we do now, more on that later).  It wasn’t a bad infestation or anything, but I react very badly to insect bites so we had to take action asap.

Aside from that, it was a relatively frugal week.

I:

  • had friends over/visited friends
  • made bread and baked cookies with the children
  • made several jars of plum chutney, as our plum trees are fruiting nicely
  • passed on outgrown clothes to friends
  • packed lunch and snacks when out and about
  • hung out at home as much as possible

The big news is that my Dad won a girl’s bike in a competition!  The bike is really decent (it’s an expensive brand) and will last Sausage for several years.  She turns five next year so getting her a decent bike was on my radar, but Dad’s win has saved us quite a bit of money.

bike-tots-in-tawhero

Happy girl!

I am always on the lookout for free or cheap things to do with my family, so when I spotted an article about ‘Wheels in Whanganui’ happening over the weekend, I marked it on the calendar.  It’s the first time this event was run, and was a collection of cars, trucks and other machinery for families to come and look out.  They also had bouncy castles, a merry-go-round, other rides and food stalls so there was very festive atmosphere.  It was run as a fund-raiser, with a small entry fee to get in ($2 each for D and I, kids free) and it was a fun and frugal way to spend the afternoon.

 

At the end of the week Chip and I spent the morning visiting his new kindy (more on that later).  A little calico cat was hanging around much to the delight of the children, but no one had ever seen her before.  She was obviously hungry and looking for company and it was love at first sight for me.  We only live around the corner from the kindy, so I thought I could take her home until we discovered who her owners were.

We knocked on doors and I put her picture on Facebook.  We found her owner within a few hours.  Only the ‘owner’ didn’t want her anymore as they are moving countries, nor had they inoculated  or spayed her.  Don’t get me started on irresponsible pet owners!  Anyway, she has a new name and a new home (Sausage’s bed…), and she’s a brilliant cat, so we feel like we got the better end of the deal.  She’s been with us a week now and I am besotted.

cali-tots-in-tawhero

Seriously, who could resist that face?

Crazy Cat Lady, that’s me.

Thanks for stopping by! Leave a reply

